Skip to content

What I mean when I say we live in the country

August 31, 2010

On a recent weekday morning, while I was happy at home with Jack on my move-in vacation, a woman drove up our driveway and came to the door.

Already, that’s unusual – we don’t really get unexpected guests, unless you count the meter reader or the mailman, and strangers rarely cover the distance between the highway and here – and awkward, because at the moment it’s either a cinder block climb or a plank-walk into the house. Luckily, I heard her climbing over scrap lumber and crunching over gravel, and I opened the door to look down at her before she had to try knocking on the lower third of the door.

“Hi?” she said/asked. “I’m here to buy your milk?”

Well, I don’t think so. We’re well beyond that stage, and anyway she was looking for raw cow’s milk.

So I gave her directions – because that’s for sale by the Ball jar less than a mile down the road.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2010 9:33 pm

    How funny! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    We got rain today — twice! A good downpour this morning and just a sprinkle a little while ago. The weather seems to be improving with the approach of a new season.

  2. August 31, 2010 11:23 pm

    Oh that is too funny! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. September 1, 2010 12:50 am

    Well that would honestly never happen where we live ๐Ÿ™‚ Sounds like you can expect some interesting visitors.

  4. September 1, 2010 1:21 am

    “We’re well beyond that stage…” This line cracked me up. Wow. You definitely live in the country.

  5. September 1, 2010 11:17 am

    Too funny! Yup, you are definitely a “country bumpkin”! (I have no idea what that means, but we always used to use it growing up for people who lived way out in the country)! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. September 1, 2010 3:26 pm

    Hahahahaha. As you can tell, I was quite amused.

  7. September 1, 2010 5:57 pm

    I love that picture. I could be in a milk commercial!

    So you do live in the country. How lovely! I dream about living in a place like that, especially when the neighborhood is buzzing so loud I can’t get a nap. I imagine napping in the country would be really great.

  8. September 6, 2010 10:44 pm

    Chuckle Chuckle! Very amusing post.

  9. September 9, 2010 9:06 pm

    Whew, I thought this post was going to be about more big, scary bugs. That was a close one! =>

Leave a Reply

