Skip to content

plumb lazy / plum crazy

September 15, 2010

Even before we moved out of our house and into my mother’s, we began getting advice on our eventual move back in. “Don’t move in until it is finished, ” said our cabinet carpenter, my boss, and many strangers we met a long the way, mostly at home improvement stores, “or it will never happen.”

Well, we knew we wouldn’t – couldn’t? – wait that long. For all I know, we have a decade of do-it-yourselfing on the lineup, inside and out. We’re missing baseboards and thresholds and cabinets and showers, porches and ditches and gravel and grass. But before we moved back in, we were missing our own space in our own imperfect, unfinished home.

Oh well. They were right, and so were we. We are relieved to be here, overwhelmed by the still-growing to-do list, and – they told us so – rediscovering free time.

On Saturday morning, I ignored the list and took Jack outside to pick clean our two wild plum trees.

I took the high branches and Jack took the low ones, and when we ran out of easy reaches, I shook the tree and Jack picked the fruit off the ground.

I’m partial to pairs of plum trees because a couple grew over the house I grew up in. In the summer we’d climb up for the harvest. We risked burning our legs on the hot tin roof, but the big, sweet purple plums and small, tart red cherry plums were worth it.

The wild plums in my yard stay green until September. They’re small and sour and good for a sweet-tart jam that I hadn’t made since Jack was still in the works.

While we were canning plums, the man of the house was actually plumbing. He had his priorities more in order – but he’ll also eat most of the jam. Sounds fair to me.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2010 4:17 pm

    This shows what a sad city girl I am: I didn’t even know there were wild plum trees!

  2. September 15, 2010 6:38 pm

    Plumb picking v plumbing, I think I know which I would prefer 🙂 Your children are only young for so long, your house will still be there wanting things done forever, as soon as you think you are finished you will be starting again on it.

  3. September 15, 2010 8:44 pm

    Oh, I love little boys in galoshes! What an adorable photo of Jack!

    And one thing I’ve learned, the to-do list will always be there when you get back. Always. Glad you decided to escape its clutches for an afternoon! =>

  4. September 16, 2010 12:43 am

    Plums and plumbing. . . Too sweet!

  5. September 16, 2010 2:23 am

    Wish I could try some of that plumb jam. Sounds delicious!

  6. September 17, 2010 11:47 am

    Of course I know this well – well not the plums part. My how they look so yummy. But the moving in and struggling to get things done part, it’s so true. Though I hope it isn’t for you. Three years into our second house and we still have SO MUCH to do. But you’ll get there, and who cares how long it takes. It’s all yours and it feels so good doesn’t it?

Trackbacks

  1. Reeling in the year « Five to Nine

Leave a Reply

