Skip to content

Working, driving, SkyMall, TV, diapers and mice (six thoughts for the record)

October 2, 2010

For the record:

I work. I parent. I waffle.
I’d thought I might stay home.
I love and need my job.
More than anything, I love parenthood.
I feel guilty. And not guilty.

I’m driving. WTF are you doing?
Yesterday I passed something called a Tumblebus.
The young woman driving was texting.
I took a verbal tumble, then
I imagined myself saving the bus.
(Remember Keanu and Sandra in Speed?)
Driving while texting = stupid and dangerous.
And not only on the Tumblebus.

It’s Retail’s Believe-It-or-Not!
The SkyMall catalog: hard to beat.

We’re too rural for cable, but…
Network TV is still worth watching.
Try The Good Wife and Glee!
I watch the Antiques Roadshow, and
my husband loves Rick Steves Europe,
So we pledge to public television
(and pray that Caillou goes away).

Cloth diapering is not so weird
Actually, it’s not weird at all.

I’ll resort to traps or poison
From where I sit right now,
I hear a large clumsy rodent
(please oh PLEASE not a rat )
rummaging in my new old walls.
I am going to kill it,
and I almost don’t feel bad.
Almost being the operative word there.

I’m linking up to Making Things Up for six word friday, where the theme today is for the record.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. October 2, 2010 2:38 am

    Lots going on in that head of yours today! I’m dizzy. The way you put it all together felt like a roller coaster. That’s good writing – concrete images and clear descriptions.

    Thanks……….cj

  2. October 2, 2010 7:04 am

    Working and parenting can/do mix
    It is complex; but not broken
    for the record, no need to fix

  3. October 2, 2010 3:17 pm

    Good stuff here. Parenting is hard work no matter how you do it. So give yourself a break. 🙂
    ~brook

  4. October 3, 2010 10:40 am

    I pray Caillou goes away too!

  5. October 4, 2010 2:44 am

    Leslie,

    I really liked this post. I learned new tidbits about you. You conveyed it so well with six words magic.

  6. October 4, 2010 9:47 pm

    We are PBS junkies as well.
    Word World is the kiddos’ favorite.
    History Detectives and Independent Lens for me.
    Husband likes This Old House, etc.
    And rats? Yucky, yucky, yucky, yucky.

    🙂

    • October 5, 2010 11:51 am

      I’ve learned so much from This Old House, which beats Dora as Jack’s favorite show.
      And it is totally a rat.

  7. October 5, 2010 1:39 pm

    Driving while texting annoys me to no end. I won’t send anyone texts if I know they’re driving because sometimes the temptation is too great to respond, especially if it’s just a word or two, and ANYTHING can happen with one, two or ten words.

    I am yet to watch Glee but something tells me I really should.

    And rodents? OMG. I can’t even imagine what I’d do. I’m squeamish like that.

  8. October 7, 2010 1:13 pm

    Yep. I know. All of it.
    Well, thankfully not the rodent.
    xo

  9. October 8, 2010 5:00 am

    Praying about Caillou and rodent: DISAPPEAR!
    Horrid in different ways, I suppose.

Leave a Reply

