Skip to content

giraffe and a half

October 25, 2010

Jack: I’m going to be a giraffe for Halloween!

Me: I know. What are you going to do when you’re wearing your costume?

Jack: Dance!

I think there’s a lesson in there somewhere, even beyond the one he’s probably channeling from Giraffes Can’t Dance, one of his favorite books (big thanks to honorary Aunt Alleen and her fab MIL!).

Anyway, we are living and breathing giraffes around here. (It’s all “Giraffes are my favorite.” and “A giraffe has a really cool neck!” and “Is my giraffe costume here now?”)

So over the weekend we went to see actual living, breathing giraffes on a small, fenced savannah in Dallas (when we have to go big, we always head to Texas).

It was Jack’s first trip to the zoo, and my first time to promise him something truly extraordinary and weather permitting. We skipped the children’s zoo – we’re Arkansans, so farm animals are a bit everyday – and walked lightning fast toward the giraffes. It didn’t rain, and they didn’t disappoint. (“There were no rabbits. There were no pigs. But there were lots and LOTS of giraffes! And lions, and tigers, and gorillas, and flamingos…”). We disappointed him a little when he asked if he could be dropped into the giraffe pen to touch them (Uh, negative). But only a little.

Thanks to the giraffes, who were eating some pricey pay-by-the-leaf romaine, Jack has started eating lettuce in earnest.

Thanks be to God, his giraffe costume came in the mail while we were gone. He was willing to take it off at the end of the night, but only so that he could take it to bed – and reach for it first thing this morning.

P.S. A gorilla, just for good measure.


16 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2010 6:12 pm

    I recognize that scene so well – we often go to the Dallas Zoo 🙂 The new Savannah area is fabulous. I love the giraffes too, they are so very cool and very photogenic. I have lots of photos of them, that new area makes for a great photo opportunity and $5 for a few leaves is outrageous I agree!

  2. October 25, 2010 7:25 pm

    My dearly departed grandmother collected giraffes (not real ones) for most of her life so I love to see a much younger aficionado in action. (Did you know, by the way, that giraffes have prehensile tongues? I just learned this fact via an ancient Ranger Rick magazine.)

  3. October 25, 2010 8:50 pm

    If only my kids would start loving giraffes! We might actually get some lettuce in them! I love that he wanted to sleep in it. My daughter slept in her peacock costume for two full weeks after Halloween last year, and I’m still finding feathers tucked under the mattress and attached to the baseboards.

  4. October 25, 2010 9:26 pm

    Hayden has yet to go to the zoo. We really need to. I want to see Jack in his costume!

  5. Dianne permalink
    October 25, 2010 9:32 pm

    This MIL has a really big smile on her face.
    I can’t wait to see pictures of Jack in his costume.

  6. October 25, 2010 11:54 pm

    Mr. B loves giraffes, too. The one at our zoo just had a baby, so we got to see a cute baby giraffe.

    But no animals for my guy. He’s a firefighter this year. His sister will be taking on the animal role–a dalmatian–since she seems to be his little sidekick anyway.

  7. October 26, 2010 3:21 am

    But of course giraffes are the coolest! Little kids are so smart nowadays. I used to think earth worms were cool…seriously. If only I’d known about giraffes…pretty sure they hadn’t made an appearance on Sesame Street and I certainly was never read any books, so I’m pretty sure I knew nothing of their very existence.
    That costume looks like it’s going to get miles of wear!

  8. October 26, 2010 11:57 am

    Giraffes are my most favourite too! Jack and I are kindred spirits. How fun is that?!

  9. October 26, 2010 2:34 pm

    This brought back lovely memories. My kids also loved giraffes. We even had a family tale of an imaginary giraffe living in our backyard… (I think she’s still there.) 😉

    Do enjoy your Halloween season! Little kids and animal costumes. Good stuff.

  10. October 26, 2010 11:47 pm

    I love giraffes (always have). My daughter likes elephants. I love that you were at the Dallas zoo (made me nostalgic for my hometown).

  11. October 27, 2010 1:25 am

    He is so darling! How cool that he is now eating lettuce because of giraffes!!

  12. October 27, 2010 5:32 pm

    Love this! And what a plus that giraffes got him eating lettuce! Husband was into giraffes as a baby but my son is more into extinct animals (dinosaurs) or Disney characters (Donald Duck and Chip & Dale).

  13. November 19, 2010 4:09 am

    I missed this in October, but had to say, we loved the Dallas zoo! In fact, that is where we got our copy of Giraffes Can’t Dance. Which reminds me I should find it since my baby lives ‘rafs’.

    Going to the zoo is AWESOME!

Trackbacks

  1. One about a goat « Five to Nine

Leave a Reply

