Skip to content

Don’t ask me.

October 28, 2010

I feel like my mind spends most of its time somewhere between idk and wt….? And most of the time, I blame it on my husband, my son and marketing. A recent roundup:

Yesterday I stopped to pick up a few things at Super Foods, a small-town grocery that I pass on my way home from work. It’s usually a milk-and-eggs sort of stop – for much more, I need a big store – but yesterday they had grapes – the “big, crunchy” ones that my son prefers. Somehow I overlooked the package branding until I was emptying the paper back back home:

Pretty Lady grapes. Awesome. Looks like somebody’s aiming to one-up Chiquita! (Or an old cigarette label ended up on the auction block, and one lucky produce company got a steal?)

*                *                *

November is coming up fast, which means if I don’t get on the ball re: holiday cards, we won’t be sending any. I sat down with my husband to look over some design ideas, and we ran into some conceptual issues – he’s a literal guy. I gave up after “There’s a lot happening there, between the lights and the animals. I don’t get it.” and “What is that supposed to be, Jerusalem?”

*                *                *

We haven’t yet hosted a proper birthday party for Jack. On his first, we shared giant strawberry cupcakes (Memaw’s recipe, of course) with some grandparents and cousins. This year we celebrated Easter with visiting family, and he had his first doughnut. But now that he’s hit two-and-a-half, he loves a good party and says he wants to have one. What do you want to have at your next birthday party, Jack? I asked him. His response: A basketball, a basketball court, and a baby (no, not a toy baby, “a baby for my mom and daddy.”).

 

Now who told him to say that? And what in the world can I get him as a long-term stand-in?

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 29, 2010 12:55 am

    Oh that made me laugh! We had just a family party for our daughter last year but she is already talking about her birthday party next year in February and wants to have a “swim class” party – never mind that most of her friends cannot swim 🙂 My daughter would also like a brother or sister 🙂

  2. Elizabeth permalink
    October 29, 2010 1:34 am

    Way to go, Jack!! On the wishing for a basketball and basketball court, that is. I know where he can “borrow” one. 🙂

  3. October 29, 2010 3:12 pm

    I seriously almost forgot Miss M’s birthday this year. The day before her birthday, I was roaring through SuperTarget, searching for Zoobles, wrapping paper and cupcakes. I suck!

  4. October 29, 2010 4:20 pm

    Awww…Jack wants a little baby brother or sister, how cute! I’m in party planning mode right now and I’m up to my eyeballs with Elmo. I’m glad she only has few friends but even then, kids’ parties are still very new to me so I haven’t gone much past balloons and cupcakes in my planning stage. But really, kids are supposed to be pretty easy to please right? What else would they want other than balloons and cupcakes? Oh right…I have to feed their parents too!

  5. October 29, 2010 8:37 pm

    Get him a dog. Or a gerbil. =>

    And we have the literal Christmas card debate every year. Usually, I design two or three on Snapfish or one of those sites and make my husband pick the one he thinks is the lesser of the three evils. I get my “Happy Holidays” and he get to Bah Humbug, all in one. Good luck!

  6. October 29, 2010 10:50 pm

    Good luck with producing him a baby. He obviously has some high (probably unrealistic) expectations of his present. Maybe he can come a play with Hayden’s baby borther/sister?

  7. October 29, 2010 10:51 pm

    i totally misspelled brother. my bad.

  8. November 4, 2010 4:08 am

    My daughter plans her next birthday at her current birthday celebration. She is all about birthdays and so it is impossible to forget them. Good luck on that birthday wish from Jack (perhaps he might change his mind and want a baby doll instead?)

Leave a Reply

