Skip to content

just treats

November 3, 2010

Our weekend was like the twilight zone – a happy, so-perfect-it-was-almost-scary kind of twilight zone. It was my best Halloween since I was six years old, rocking my ballerina costume, the lollipop tree and cake walk at the carnival in our school gymnasium. It was Jack’s first time to be aware of Halloween enough to pick a costume and wear it with pride (no more stuffing a bewildered little guy into a carrot bunting or a chicken suit!).

He loved being a giraffe.

At the last minute, he accessorized with one of his non-candy treats – a new guitar from my mother. We took him out on Friday afternoon for trick-or-treating on the city square. He was the only rock-n-roll giraffe in town.

He took a break from shyly watching other kids trick-or-treat to play with his buddy Hayden, whose sharing led to costume no. 2, a la Country Western firefighter with giraffe legs.

We drove a couple of miles to knock on his other grandparents’ door. They also went with the non-candy surprise – a new police car with voices and sirens – and then watched Jack while he played with it for a couple hours and Don treated me to dinner out. I was glad not to be in costume.

Don spent Saturday taking a group of high schoolers college-shopping a few hours away. I took Jack to see his Uncle Jesse play “real rock-n-roll” at a small-town carnival nearby. They shared the stage.

Jack was understanding when he didn’t get to jump in the giant inflatables  (“Maybe when I’m bigger I can do it?”), and content to sit in the basket at the grocery store. So content that I was willing to humor his requests for me to sing “Love Shack” to the tune of that plastic guitar. It was a load-up-for-November shopping trip, and by the time we headed for the checkout, the cart was so full it was tough to maneuver.

We met Don halfway home and treated Jack to supper at Catfish Hole, where the world is fried to perfection. Jack wanted to sit alone on one side of the booth, and it paid off. He ate his fries, hushpuppies, pickles, tomato relish and catfish neatly while practicing his “please” and “thank you.”

(I pinched myself.)

The restaurant keeps an all-you-want buffet of Tootsie Roll Pops on the floor next to the cash register, and since I was using his trick-or-treat bag as a purse for the day (the best way to carry a wallet, a phone, keys AND a toy guitar), we introduced him to candy. It would have been a mistake if it hadn’t turned out to be the best potty-training incentive ever.

On Sunday, when we needed to get the holiday cards started, he smiled for pictures.

Three days later, I’m still pinching myself.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2010 5:07 pm

    Aw, it sounds like a great day! And he’s such a cute rock n roll giraffe. The zoo would be a lot more fun if they gave every giraffe a guitar.

  2. November 3, 2010 6:59 pm

    Sounds absolutely delightful! Hopefully we will have a great time this Saturday as well.

    Jack definitely rocked the giraffe costume!

  3. November 4, 2010 1:46 am

    It is so magical when they start to appreciate Halloween. I love those first two photos. Just wait until next year – my daughter now three really understood this year what it was all about and was so very excited, asking all day long “will it be dark soon?” It makes for a very special day for everyone doesn’t it.

  4. November 4, 2010 3:38 am

    Best looking rocker giraffe I’ve ever seen! And smiling for the holiday pictures, too? (OMG. That was always the biggest challenge. In fact, it still is… I think teens are worse than toddlers on that score.) 🙂

    You’ll have to post your holiday pics. Including the outtakes.

  5. November 4, 2010 4:37 am

    These are some great memories. He certainly makes a cute rocker giraffe!

  6. November 4, 2010 4:54 am

    This is so awesome!! It makes me smile as well!! I adore those pictures of you and Jack.

  7. November 4, 2010 12:12 pm

    Fantastic. I love it when the stars align. I think it’s particularly delightful because it is often so unexpected. And cute, all of you!
    xo

  8. November 5, 2010 4:40 am

    I love it! Tell Jack he was the best rock-n-roll giraffe I’ve ever seen. 🙂

  9. November 8, 2010 4:31 am

    Love it! Halloween is the best.

Leave a Reply

