Skip to content

ch-ch-ch-changes

November 6, 2010

The leaves and the temperature: down.
Like my mood re: the time change.
An extra hour sounds good, but –
Extra darkness every day? No thanks.
(Unless – a shorter workday, too? No?)

Well, I’m not moving to Arizona.
And it will be darker. Earlier.
So I’ll focus on the good:

Mulled wine. Apple cider. Chai lattes.
All manners of pie. Cranberry everything.
Hot chocolate Michael Pollan would drink.
Christmas music. Jazz. Sweaters and coats.
I could go on and on
but déjà vu! I’ll re-post instead:

[sub]standard time
November 7, 2008

In the first week after Jack was born and I was more emotionally bonkers than usual,  I mourned several things prematurely. I cried because in the grand scheme of things, his infancy was fleeting; I cried because in two months, I’d have to go back to work. Our switch to daylight savings time was then recent, and I grieved over its eventual passing (still seven months away at that point).

Seven months of very little sleep has made me more comfortable with the idea that Jack won’t always be a baby, and though being away from him for much of the week still feels tragic, I don’t cry about it (much). But today ends my first workweek off of daylight savings time, and I have not gotten over that loss. I already spend nearly half of my waking hours in an office building 30 miles away; at home, I’ll take all the daylight I can get.

Standard time doesn’t do much for the commuter lifestyle.  Suddenly, it’s dark when I get home. And while it isn’t actually later, it feels that I have less time to spend with Don and Jack, that dinner is more rushed, that 10 p.m. arrives sooner.  It’s hard to remember that just a week ago, I was admiring the scenery on my drive home, and I didn’t need the headlights to get up our driveway after work or the porch light to make it safely up to the front door. Now, nighttime officially arrives there before I do. As the days grow shorter, I’ll see less and less of my house by daylight, until eventually on weekdays I’ll be leaving and returning in the dark.  Even rhetorically speaking, daylight savings is superior: Seriously, who wants to fall back when you can spring forward?

Don has encouragingly reminded me that with standard time season come my favorite holidays, cheesy music, hot beverages, wool coats, tall boots, and Jack’s little bear bunting. And he’s right – in so many ways, we’re headed for the most wonderful time of the year.  I’ll bet a big batch of mulled wine would get us there even faster…

Do you love to fall back and look forward to early nightfall? Or count the days until March 13, 2011? (180, FYI.)
Also, two years later, I’m wishing that bear bunting still fit. Anyone know where I can find a 2T snowsuit with ears?

(I didn’t quite  manage a six word Friday, so I’m considering this six-word-plus Saturday.)

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 6, 2010 4:03 pm

    I’m not crazy about the pitch black mornings either. My little guy wakes up early and he’s not yet big on watching the sunrise so i miss it which feels like i’m not appreciating nature enough. The good thing is i have more play time with him before i go to work. I used to feel sad about being away from him during th weekdays but now that he’s in pre-school, we both have our thing that we do with our days.

    Here’s to wishing you a happy fall back.

  2. November 6, 2010 4:41 pm

    I love getting my hour back. For about a week and a half. It’s payback for the evil spring one where my hour is stolen. But after that it becomes just annoying for it to be dark all the time.
    I do like all those yummy other things.

  3. November 6, 2010 6:04 pm

    This time of year is truly bittersweet. So much goodness happening as the holidays approach, and cozy things to be enjoyed, starkly contrasted against the cold, damp weather and darkness. I don’t know about you, but I love it! 🙂

  4. November 6, 2010 6:59 pm

    Leslie–I loved the six word poem (?) and the re-posted essay. I think that daylight savings should be eradicated, personally, as it really does nothing now. Just another false tradition. : ) But, I am excited for this year’s Fall back. My husband is returning from a 2-day trip tonight so I will get to hang out with him a wee bit longer once he gets in!!

  5. Elizabeth permalink
    November 6, 2010 7:18 pm

    Jack would be so cute in a 2 year old-sized bear suit. He was, of course, the cutest giraffe I’ve ever seen!

  6. November 6, 2010 8:43 pm

    I know what you mean. But sometimes, that extra darkness makes the evenings seem longer to me…which can be bad or good! Or maybe that’s because the winter months are the only ones we don’t have evening commitments in the form of sports practices, which is nice. I’ll be trying to focus on the good part of standard time, too!

  7. November 6, 2010 11:29 pm

    I love all seasons except winter. Short days and long dark nights I really do not like and then, the cold days (thankfully not so many here but still we get them) I so dislike. I definitely think more light and sunshine equals happier people!

    • Janell permalink
      November 7, 2010 3:57 am

      You should move to Arizona…it’s great…although we did hit 92* on Wednesday!

  8. November 8, 2010 3:39 am

    I am with Janell. You should move to Arizona. I wish though we would get something of fall here because it is still in the nineties. The chai lattes are something I love too.

  9. November 8, 2010 5:16 am

    Not moving to Arizona: appropriately non-drastic! 🙂

    Ugh, I am not a fan of the time change either way. I hope the hot chocolate pulls you through this year!

Leave a Reply

