Skip to content

Maybe, just maybe, ’tis not the season?

November 11, 2010

So, I didn’t look forward to setting my clocks back again this year. But on Sunday morning, after sleeping in (which even on the weekends just feels like oversleeping), my realization that we weren’t already behind – that it really is a free hour! – was delicious. Pancakes and cocoa delicious, just like the rest of the day, spent working on the house and taking my brother out for birthday sushi, where Jack surprised everyone by eating half of my rolls.

The next morning, it was so light at 6 a.m. that I thought I’d set the wrong alarm. Imagine the relief I felt when I remembered that the days aren’t that short yet!

The sun lit my commute, which I spent looking headlong into two 12-hour workdays. Maybe, I realized, it isn’t the time change that has me wishing so hard for more time at home. Maybe it’s the classes that I’m teaching until close to 9 p.m. on Monday and Tuesday nights, after spending those days in my office. Maybe it’s the papers I bring home to grade on the other days, the calendar I’m always trying to keep up with, the growing list of e-mails I need to respond to.

Maybe my dismay over the earlier sunset is really just seasonal blame-shifting.

But I’m holding onto the cocoa, just in case.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 11, 2010 9:59 pm

    I know, Sunday felt like such a long day to me! And while I do appreciate the lighter morning, its leaving the office with just a glimpse of sun that makes my ride home gloomy.

    Good think my kitchen awaits when I get home – that’s when my day really begins! 😀

  2. November 11, 2010 9:59 pm

    thing . . . not think! 😀

  3. November 11, 2010 11:38 pm

    My daughter is an early riser, so Sunday morning meant a 5am alarm call and my mid-morning it already felt like a very long day 🙂 I do not like the dark evenings, the long nights and short days of winter. The more daylight hours and sunshine the better for me.

  4. November 12, 2010 1:32 am

    We live in AZ and didn’t have to reset the clocks, but the evenings are getting darker earlier. I am not complaining, the temps are finally feeling like fall. I love the smell of hot cocoa on a cold day.

  5. November 12, 2010 2:59 am

    I cannot stop thinking about just wanting to be home. Which is silly, because I’m home a LOT more than I have been for the last three years. But there is still TOO MUCH. Too much that I have to do. For the first time in my life I just want the room to be domestic and momly, all the time, every day, even in between the headaches and the other ideas that all I really want is to be ALONE.

    So yeah. I hear you.
    And blame-shifting…I’m really good at it. I get that too.

  6. November 12, 2010 4:31 am

    I’m loving the time change… for the moment. The teen is a little less difficult to wake in the a.m., after his usual 3 or 4 hours of sleep. 😦

    Yeah. Cocoa. Sounds like a plan.

  7. November 12, 2010 4:37 am

    The time change always throws me for a loop. Being that I’m 34 you’d think I’d have figured out how to deal with it by now, but nope. No such luck.

    Cocoa can fix everything. Or at least help!

  8. November 12, 2010 5:32 pm

    I didn’t realize you were teaching any classes. Especially not so late. WOW!

Leave a Reply

