Skip to content

Workweekend

July 14, 2009

Because my husband and I both run camps through June and July, summer doesn’t often find us poolside, lakeside or hosting barbecues. It finds us corralling teenagers, losing our voices, enjoying plenty of laughter and head-shaking.

We just spent the weekend in Kansas City with 61 freshmen and sophomores, 13 college students, two colleagues and Jack. The kids shopped and ate at the Plaza. They had a blast at Worlds of Fun (whose name is a bit of an overstatement, if you ask me. I will forever remember it as Worlds of Parking Lots, and the first time I’ve ever wished for GPS navigation. We, two charter buses, and another staff car all got lost, all separately. I recommend studying satellite images before you go.). They liked what they saw at the Kemper Museum, and their only complaint at the Nelson-Atkins was that they needed MORE time. (Did I mention these are high school students? I’ve never been more proud of them.)

ridec DSC_2961c

Though this was not Jack’s first trip out of state with bus loads of teenagers, it was his first visit to a museum. He slept through most of the indoor art (he’s a less than stellar chaperone) but marveled at The Thinker and the Shuttlecocks.

SC ARt

We got home after 10 on Sunday night, and D woke up Monday at 5 a.m. to get ready for his work week: a trip with his 50 students to Dallas for the week.

I know, there’s just no shortage of fun around here.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 14, 2009 4:16 pm

    Jack went with y’all on the trip with the students?!?!? Seriously? WOW!!! He is so laid-back… very impressive!

    Y’alls summer is CRAZY!!! But it looks like you had a great time! Very cute pictures… see y’all Sunday (I am looking forward to it)!!!

  2. July 14, 2009 5:54 pm

    Wow, you are busy. Sounds like a great time. How fun for Jack to get to go to all those places.
    What kind of camp do you guys run?

Leave a comment