Skip to content

Snowed in. (!)

February 1, 2010

One thing’s for sure: I love a snow day. I don’t think I’ll ever be able to work in an industry that doesn’t observe them.

School was out last Friday in anticipation of a storm that was forecast to rival the one that pummeled us this time last year. I wasn’t too keen on reliving the power outages, my broken windshield or any other ice storm goodies, so we fled north to Fayetteville to wait it out with my in-laws. They have a gas space heater.  And cable TV.

We left my mother at home. She was equipped with coveralls and a contingency plan to walk the 8 miles to my dad’s house if the roads iced over and the power lines failed. His potbellied stove doesn’t need electricity.

Luckily, we just ended up with a long, white weekend. Six inches of snow is a lot for our neck of the woods (it took three days for the highway to be plowed). It was the most snow Jack had ever seen, and he was excited until he learned that the slides were impassable.

I love the snow.  I like that it gives everything a coat of white (I’d do the same if I had tons of time and no-VOC paint). I like that if you throw wind in the mix, the air sparkles. I like that the contrast makes me feel like I can see forever, makes the landscape look like a folk art painting, makes  me think I could count every tree.

When Jack is older, and the slide isn’t the only thing at the end of his tunnel vision, I imagine he’ll like to crawl through the tunnels the bamboo makes when it’s heavy with snow.

In Arkansas, snow is always short-lived, so three days of this was not too many.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2010 10:15 pm

    Lovely images as always.

    We spent most of the last three days at home, except for a brief excursion into town to buy birdseed and an SD card for my camera — then a detour on the way home to see some of the winter wonderland scenery.

  2. February 2, 2010 1:04 am

    Like you, I can’t imagine ever working in an industry that doesn’t observe snow days. (I was a teacher for many years in the Northeast and snow days were par for the course.) And, for all the reasons you list, I also can’t imagine living in a place without seasons – without the cold questioning of winter, the promise of spring, the slowness of summer, and the kaleidoscope of fall. Lovely, lovely photos.

  3. crnnoel permalink
    February 2, 2010 1:13 am

    What gorgeous photos! Snowdays are so lovely, no matter where you are 🙂 There’s a certain peace that comes with them.

  4. February 2, 2010 1:18 am

    “I like that if you throw wind in the mix, the air sparkles.”
    Selah
    xo

  5. February 4, 2010 2:33 am

    Cute family picture! I like when it snows, too…it’s dangerous to say that around here! lol!! The shot of the sun sort of shining through those trees is gorgeous.

  6. February 7, 2010 4:15 am

    Fantastic photos! Breathtaking! Makes me almost think winter isn’t so bad…almost. 😉

  7. February 7, 2010 2:30 pm

    I love the picture of all 3 of you. That last photo is so breathtaking.

Leave a comment