Skip to content

in with the old

January 12, 2010

When fortune calls, offer her a chair. (Yiddish proverb)

When fortune calls less often, see what your local flea markets have to offer (personal recommendation).

I visited the Salvation Army during my holiday break and jump-started my living room (-to-be) for $28 (a price soon to be eclipsed by the stripes and loud botanical print I’m imagining these reupholstered in).

I found them while I was out Christmas shopping. This year, gift-giving on my side of the family came with conditions: Presents were to be handmade, used, or otherwise cheap.

It made even the last-minute shopping more fun – we browsed with more interest and curiosity, checked price tags with less trepidation, waited in fewer and shorter lines. And the goods? They were good. I unwrapped an old enameled metal cloche pot in sea foam green. My husband unwrapped a ThawMax (circa 1987),  a tray of cast aluminum that thaws things quickly. I think my sisters were partly kidding on that one, but they got it right – it’s a great defroster for a couple without a microwave. I received many pretty little things from Anthropologie, where a lot of things look kind of old. And though I made a few things, I also made several trips to T.J. Maxx, which is like recycled retail. I bought my mother a plug-and-play Atari, which is like recycled fun.

This year and beyond, in addition to sending more mail, I also resolve to buy more old, less new.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2010 11:46 am

    Oooh, I like those chairs. Funky! And is that pink chair sitting in your living-room to be? Because wow, the exposed brick is awesome!

  2. January 14, 2010 2:41 am

    Awesome! What great finds for the Salvation Army! I keep meaning to go check our local thrift stores for some accent pieces (or even a dresser for my kids)…you’ve inspired me to make it happen!

  3. crnnoel permalink
    January 14, 2010 5:09 pm

    That’s fantastic! What great ideas, and cool conversation pieces that you end up with 🙂

  4. Alleen permalink
    January 14, 2010 10:23 pm

    I love the legs on both of those and the lines on that club chair, especially! I can’t wait to see what fun fabrics you pick for these! So exciting!

  5. January 15, 2010 10:26 pm

    Gorgeous chairs, and I love your family’s shopping rules!

  6. January 25, 2010 3:03 pm

    ThawMax? You’ve been so close to one so often! We’ve had one for years. Auntie B was so impressed by a demo of it’s ability to melt ice cubes that she HAD to bring one home. I even use it occasionally, though to do so always requires vigorous cleaning as it lives in the uncharted wasteland above the fridge.

Trackbacks

  1. Green light, revisited « Five to Nine

Leave a comment